Our Trustees

Our Trustees


Our Board of Trustees is responsible for setting our strategic direction and overseeing the delivery of it. They oversee all aspects of the charity's management and finances. The Board is composed of leading figures from many sectors and includes a number of Fellows.

The charity was set up in 1965 as the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust, in memory of Sir Winston Churchill. In 2021 we adopted the operating name of the Churchill Fellowship.


The Queen meeting Churchill Fellow John Cowie

Patron 1965-2022 Her Late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II

Her Late Majesty Queen Elizabeth II was our patron from 1965 to 2022. Here she is shown meeting CF John Cowie during our 50th anniversary reception at Buckingham Palace.


Photograph of Jeremy Soames

Chair The Hon Jeremy Soames

Jeremy Soames is the grandson of Sir Winston Churchill and has spent most of his career in investment management and banking, mainly with the N M Rothschild Group, where he was a director of operating companies in Europe, Asia and the USA. He is an experienced Chair and Non-executive Director with former roles including Chairman of the National Pension Fund for Nurses, Trustee of the Royal Opera House Trust and the Burdett Trust.

Photograph of James Williams

Vice-Chair James Williams DL CVO

James Williams DL CVO has worked in international asset management since the early 1970s. His interests include the arts, education and rural matters in his home county of Cornwall.

Simon Bevan

Trustee Simon Bevan

Simon Bevan is a non-executive director and adviser for a portfolio of commercial and not-for-profit organisations. He has held client-facing, leadership and governance roles as a partner in two large audit and advisory firms.

Photograph of Bharatti Crack

Trustee Bharatti Crack

Bharatti Crack is a diversity and inclusion expert specialising in socio-economic diversity. She is also an Ambassador for Leaders As Change Agents. She has 30 years’ experience of leading HR departments in corporate and investment banking and telecommunications.

Photograph of Maria Iredale

Trustee Maria Iredale CF

Maria Iredale is a Churchill Fellow and Executive Director of the Petroleum Exploration Society of Great Britain, a membership association for individuals in the sub-surface energy industries.

Molly Mulready

Trustee Molly Mulready

Molly Mulready is a judge specialising in immigration and asylum law. She is a mentor with the London School of Economics Black and Minority Ethnic mentoring scheme, and has written for various publications.

Photograph of Lucy Parker

Trustee Lucy Parker CF

Lucy Parker is a Churchill Fellow and Chair of the Advisory Council for the Churchill Fellowship. She is a senior advisor at the Brunswick Group and co-lead of the firm’s global Business & Society practice.

Photograph of Jacob Polny

Trustee Jacob Polny

Jacob Polny is Chief Investment Officer at Telemos Capital and has extensive private equity investment experience across Europe in large and medium sized companies.

Catherine Smith

Trustee Catherine Smith

Catherine Smith is a senior communications and marketing professional and Head of Supporter Relations at Chelsea Football Club. Catherine was formerly a trustee for the Foyer Federation, a not-for-profit organisation helping young people.

Photograph of David Taylor-Smith

Trustee David Taylor-Smith MBE

David Taylor-Smith is an international business leader who has held senior roles at PHS Group, VPS Group, G4S plc, Aggreko Plc and Jardine Matheson. David has also served in the British Army and United Nations and has held many charitable roles.

Photograph of Joanne Thompson

Trustee Joanne Thompson

Joanne Thompson is a Crown Representative to HMG, as well as holding non-executive directorships. Prior to this, she held a range of leadership roles in the software and telecoms industries.

“I am very proud to see the enormous contribution made by the Churchill Fellowship in all areas of our national life.” – Jeremy Soames, Chairman.